AVID

Understanding AVID

AVID (Advancement Via Individual Determination) is a nonprofit that changes lives by helping schools shift to a more equitable, student-centered approach. AVID offers a variety of classroom activities, lesson plans, professional learning videos, and timely articles that are relevant to students. These tools help educators at Nyack implement and refine instructional practices. The power of AVID at the middle and high school level is the ability to impact students enrolled in the AVID Elective class and all students throughout the school. AVID at the middle and high school level can have an effect on the entire school by providing classroom activities, teaching practices, and academic behaviors that can be incorporated into any classroom to improve engagement and success for all students. Teachers have been incorporating the AVID strategies into their classroom to help all students, not just those in the AVID elective, to become more college- and career-ready.

What's happening with AVID in 2020 - 2021.

Quick Contacts

Lorraine Longing, District Director for AVID, Llonging@nyackschools.org, 845 353 - 7123

Stephanie Luciani, Middle School AVID elective teacher, Sluciani@nyackschools.org 

Lynn Giles Harris, AVID Site Coordinator, Lgilesharris@nyackschools.org

Celena Chin, High School AVID elective teacher, cchin@nyackschools.org

Sean Cavanagh, 9th Grade AVID counselor, scavanagh@nyackschools.org

Judelka Espinal, 11th Grade AVID elective teacher, jespinal@nyackschools.org

Tara Heinemann, 10th grade AVID counselor, theinemann@nyackschools.org

Maggie Gershonovitz, 11th grade AVID counselor, mgershonovitz@nyackschools.org

I AM AVID

AVID Parent Orientation -

How to Video - Naviance Tutorial

How to Build a Resume in Naviance - Video

Calendar

View Monthly Calendar

AVID

AVID Announcements

View More Posts