AVID

Understanding AVID

AVID (Advancement Via Individual Determination) is a nonprofit that changes lives by helping schools shift to a more equitable, student-centered approach. AVID offers a variety of classroom activities, lesson plans, professional learning videos, and timely articles that are relevant to students. These tools help educators at Nyack implement and refine instructional practices. The power of AVID at the middle and high school level is the ability to impact students enrolled in the AVID Elective class and all students throughout the school. AVID at the middle and high school level can have an effect on the entire school by providing classroom activities, teaching practices, and academic behaviors that can be incorporated into any classroom to improve engagement and success for all students. Teachers have been incorporating the AVID strategies into their classroom to help all students, not just those in the AVID elective, to become more college- and career-ready.

Calendar

  • school closed

    Guidance
  • school closed

    Guidance
  • school closed

    Guidance
  • school closed

    Guidance
  • school closed

    Guidance
  • school closed

    Guidance
  • MLK Jr. Day

    Guidance
  • RCC free application day at Nyack High School Guidance office 9 - 2

    Guidance
  • 8th to 9th grade parent orientation

    Guidance
  • Junior Parent night on the college process

    Presentation starts at 7pm.

    college fair in the cafeteria starts at 6pm.

    Guidance
  • school closed

    Guidance
  • school closed

    Guidance
  • school closed

    Guidance
  • school closed

    Guidance
  • school closed

    Guidance
  • RCC free application day at Nyack High School Guidance office 9 - 2

    Guidance
  • Superintendent's Conference day

    Guidance
  • school closed

    Guidance
  • school closed

    Guidance
  • school closed

    Guidance
View Monthly Calendar

Quick Contacts

Lorraine Longing, District Director for AVID, Llonging@nyackschools.org, 845 353 - 7123

Stephanie Luciani, Middle School AVID elective teacher, Sluciani@nyackschools.org 

Lynn Giles Harris, AVID Site Coordinator, Lgilesharris@nyackschools.org

Sean Cavanagh, 11th Grade AVID counselor, scavanagh@nyackschools.org

Judelka Espinal, 11th  and 12th Grade AVID elective teacher, jespinal@nyackschools.org

Maggie Gershonovitz, 10th grade AVID counselor, mgershonovitz@nyackschools.org

Tara Heinemann, 9th and 12th grade AVID counselor, theinemann@nyackschools.org

Sythnia Salomon, 9th and 10th Grade AVID elective teacher, ssalomon@nyackschools.org

 

What's Happening in AVID 22- 23