Elementary School Counseling

Quick Contacts

Lorraine Longing, Director of Guidance K- 12, 353- 7123, llonging@nyackschools.org

Marina Gomez, Elementary Guidance Counselor at Liberty, 353 - 7259,  mgomez@nyackschools.org

Jon Christopher Hogg, Elementary Guidance Counselor at  Valley Cottage , 353 - 7289, jhogg2@nyackschools.org

Andrea Perez, Elementary Guidance Counselor at Upper Nyack , 353- 7279 , aperez@nyackschools.org

  Valley Cottage  Upper Nyack Liberty 

 Monday

Jon Christopher Hogg Andrea Perez Marina Gomez
Tuesday  Jon Christopher Hogg

Andrea Perez Marina Gomez
Wednesday  Andrea Perez Jon Christopher Hogg Marina Gomez
Thursday  Jon Christopher Hogg Andrea Perez Marina Gomez
Friday  Andrea Perez Jon Christopher Hogg Marina Gomez

Need to Know

UPPER NYACK ELEMENTARY

Upper Nyack Elementary Main Office: (845)353-7260

Upper Nyack Elementary School Social Worker: Enisa Nikocevic: enikocevic@nyackschools.org

Upper Nyack Elementary School Psychologist: TBA

Family Resource Coordinator at Upper Nyack Elementary : Rachel Berlin (845)353-7268

Upper Nyack Elementary Guidance  Counselor: Andrea Perez: aperez@nyackschools.org

LIBERTY ELEMENTARY:

Liberty Elementary Main Office :(845) 353-7240 

Liberty Social Worker: Christina Delgado Weis

Liberty School Psychologist: Dr. Elizabeth Di Prima: ediprima@nyackschools.org

Family Resource Coordinator at Liberty Elementary :  TBA

Liberty Elementary Guidance Counselor: Marina Gomez: mgomez@nyackschools.org

VALLEY COTTAGE ELEMENTARY:

Valley Cottage Elementary Main Office: (845)353 - 7280

Valley Cottage Elementary  Social Worker: Brett Sloane : bsloane@nyackschools.org

Valley Cottage Elementary  School psychologist: Margaret Byrne: Mbyrne@nyackschools.org

Family Resource Coordinator at Valley Cottage Elementary : Jessica Misla (845)353-7291

Valley Cottage Elementary Guidance Counselor : Jon - Christopher Hogg: jhogg2@nyackschools.org

 

Resources for parents reopening schools for the 21- 22 school year :

Being out of school since March and  preparing for the return remotely or in person, might increase stress and anxiety. If you need someone to talk to, be sure to reach out to your guidance counselor through email.

Information about helping your child's increased anxiety about returning to school: https://childmind.org/article/back-to-school-anxiety-during-covid/

Information about emotional support during COVID:  Emotional Hope -Creole.pdf , Emotional Hope - French.pdf ,  Emotional Hope Espanol.pdf ,  Emotional Hope.pdf 

National Association of School Psychologists: Talking to Children About COVID-19: A Parent Resource- https://higherlogicdownload.s3.amazonaws.com/NASN/3870c72d-fff9-4ed7-833f-215de278d256/UploadedImages/PDFs/02292020_NASP_NASN_COVID-19_parent_handout.pdf

Child Mind Institute: Talking to Kids About the Coronavirus - https://childmind.org/article/talking-to-kids-about-the-coronavirus/

https://www.nasponline.org/resources-and-publications/resources-and-podcasts/school-climate-safety-and-crisis/health-crisis-resources/helping-children-cope-with-changes-resulting-from-covid-19

The Governor has opened a Emotional Support Hotline: 1-844-863-9314, more information can be found at: https://omh.ny.gov/omhweb/covid-19-resources.html

Here are some tips on how to Keep Mindful: https://mailchi.mp/littlefloweryoga/kids-and-coronavirus-anxiety?e=93768a4a9b

Second Step SEL resources available to parents: https://www.secondstep.org/covid19support

Resources for Grief

Grief work may be helpful to provide support for students and families to process their grief over what was lost at the end of the school year. 

Safety supports 

      • National Suicide Prevention and Crisis Line:  1(800)273-8255
      • Or text TALK to 741741
      • Behavioral Health Response Team - 845-517-0400